Thursday, October 22nd 2020
Politics Top Stories

101Reporters Poll Predictions

May 21, 2019


101Reporters Poll Predictions

The election survey by 101Reporters was carried out in 538 out of the 542 constituencies which voted in the General Elections for Lok Sabha, 2019. We engaged our network of local reporters, sitting in the thick of all the political action in their respective constituencies, to predict which way the seat will swing based on their reportage and analysis on the ground talking to people.

The survey has predicted Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to be the single-largest party with 211 seats going down from 282 seats, while Congress(INC) is predicted to be the second-largest party with 114 seats, going up from 44 seats in 2014.

According to the survey, the National Democratic Alliance (according to the pre-poll alliance) is set to acquire 253 seats, falling short of the 272-majority mark, while UPA is looking to bag 151 seats. The much-fabled third front could prove to be important in deciding the Prime Minister of the country which is likely to get 134 seats.

As is synonymous with Indian democracy, regional parties are predicted to continue their strong display in states all around the country. The third-largest party in the 2014 election was All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(AIADMK) with 37 seats but the demise of party supremo Jayalalithaa has carved a considerable dent in their vote share, and the survey has predicted that they will win eight seats in the state while their rival Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK) is predicted to win 14 seats, going up from zero in 2014. All India Trinamool Congress(AITC/TMC) is predicted to win 26 seats, coming down from 34 in the state.

BJP is predicted to secure a whitewash in Goa, Himachal Pradesh and Tripura while Congress is speculated to achieve a whitewash in Meghalaya, Mizoram, Chandigarh and Pondicherry. Telangana Rashtra Samithi is projected to win all the 17 seats in Telangana, while Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party is anticipated to win the lone seat in Nagaland.

The result of this election will be declared on May 23, 2019. This election is the largest the world has ever seen, with 900 million eligible voters exercising their franchise to vote.